01_RCX CD Booklet.png

Lonesome Miles

by RootCellarXtract

You can buy and download the album here:


You can check the video to South Dakota Sky here:


So…if you are reading this, then chances are you are listening as well and for that we thank you. Thanks from all of us to our fans, friends and family. This album (our second) is our own little contribution to the big universe and circle of music. Thanks to those artists who created this genre of music…you know who you are! We are all creatures of music one way or ‘nuther and simply put we consider ourselves damn lucky to have the opportunity to play for folks who enjoy our music.

Here’s a review of the entire album, track by track by Brandon Wheeler of CincyMusic.

By: Brandon Wheeler

Album Review: Root Cellar Xtract Lonesome Miles

One of the best parts about writing reviews of local music releases is that I get to hear a lot of music – from every genre, and every level of production. But most of all is that it’s authentic. The bands and artists have put everything they had into making the best record they can, and making for themselves. They believe in what they’re doing, and that belief truly comes across in the music. It stands in sharp contrast to the overproduced, contrived pablum on a lot of commercial radio -- written by focus groups instead of songwriters.

That authenticity, that belief in the music, is everywhere on Lonesome Miles, the newest release from local country rock group Root Cellar Xtract.

1. South Dakota Sky

The album opens with “South Dakota Sky,” its gentle fiddle and guitar coming on like a sunrise over the morning dew.

2. Mystery Lady

The groove picks up on “Mystery Lady,” featuring a hypnotic guitar riff guiding the listener through the forest of reserved, almost demure vocals.

3. Everytime

“Everytime” slows the tempo, taking time to reflect on the introspective, insightful lyrics.

4. Kentucky Heartbreak

The record picks back up with “Kentucky Heartbreak,” a classic foot-stomper with great harmonies and a memorable hook, as well as a lively, old-timey piano solo.

5. It Ain’t Easy

“It Ain’t Easy” mellows again; a dark, brooding ballad with lyrics riddled with a pensive, almost guilty reflection.

6. Abandoned and Alone

“Abandoned and Alone” draws on a classic country vibe, with lyrics full of regrets and verses set to make you cry in your beer.

7. Six Feed Closer to Hell

“Six Feet Closer To Hell” is a funky, minor little number with a great groove - an eleventh-hour (and welcome) addition to the record.

B Side

8. I Know

The peppy “I Know” shows more of the band’s range, pulling off a great bluegrassy vibe, complete with great fiddle, a wandering mandolin, and more of those great harmonies.

9. Forever Is Never

“Forever Is Never” opens with a simple piano, setting up for a classic ballad - in this case, a melancholy remembrance of a marriage gone bad.

10. A Little Love in Your Arms

The band returns to an effortlessly smooth groove on “A Little Love In Your Arms,” with a highlight of a pedal steel solo from outer space.

11. Space Between Places

A tempo boost comes in with “Space Between Places,” with a vibe that feels at home on late 90s college radio, while maintaining its cohesion with the rest of the album.

12. Fork In That Dark Road

The electric piano that kicks off “Fork In That Dark Road” sets up a big, rich song, with long, sustaining vocals over a driving beat -- also featuring some of the best bass parts on the record, which is quite a statement.

13. She’s The Edge Of The Night

The record slows down again on “She’s The Edge Of The Night,” a song that wears its somber heart on its sleeve.

14. Space Under The Hood

“Space Under the Hood,” the closing track of the album, punctuates the ending nicely with yet another hook-driven groove that will have you tapping your foot along.

RCx is a tight band, deftly moving between and even blending multiple genres and styles, all while pulling off some very tasteful, rich harmonies. It all provides a solid foundation for some insightful, earnest lyrics and vocals that feel restrained, allowing the listener just enough room to fill in the gaps. The band, and this album, are certainly steeped in the West Coast country rock of the 70s, but they have taken those influences and made them into something uniquely their own.

Lonesome Miles does not put on airs; it just lays RCx’s truth out, authentic and honest, for everyone to hear.